REH: Two-Gun Raconteur #2

The second issue of REH: Two-Gun Raconteur, from 1976. Contains several articles and a letter from Howard to Clark Ashton Smith, part two of the article about an astrological look at Howard.

In the mid-1970s, when the Robert E. Howard Boom was just beginning, REH: Two-Gun Raconteur was on the cutting edge of Howard Fandom. During those heady days there was a continuous stream of hardback books, paperbacks, magazines, comics, chapbooks, fanzines, art portfolios and one-shot publications all devoted to the gifted author and poet from Cross Plains, Texas. When the Boom eventually faded out in the late eighties, the fans and admirers of Robert E. Howard still carried the torch, waiting for a time when Howard would return and that time has come. While not on as grand a scale as the earlier boom, it is nonetheless a great time to be a Howard fan.

Conan’s Brethren

The book was published in January 2011 by Gollancz and is an omnibus called Conan’s Brethren. It contains tales of Solomon Kane, King Kull, Bran Mak Morn and others. It’s a thick book, but very lightweight. 

The Horror Stories of Robert E. Howard

The best horror stories and poems by Robert E. Howard is collected in this beautiful book by Subterranean Press.

The UK based small press Wandering Star issued glorious editions of Robert E. Howard’s work, including The Savage Tales of Solomon Kane, Bran Mak Morn, The Ultimate Triumph, as well as two volumes of Howard’s Conan tales. Subterranean Press followed this when Wandering Star folded. It’s basically a beautiful reprint of Del Reys book.

Bran Mak Morn: The Last King

Lavishly illustrated by award-winning artist Gary Gianni, this collection gathers together all of Howard’s published stories and poems featuring Bran Mak Morn–including the eerie masterpiece “Worms of the Earth” and “Kings of the Night,” in which sorcery summons Kull the conqueror from out of the depths of time to stand with Bran against the Roman invaders.

Also included are previously unpublished stories and fragments, reproductions of manuscripts bearing Howard’s handwritten revisions, and much, much more.

The texts for this edition were based on Howard’s original typescripts or the first published appearance if a typescript was unavailable.

Worms of the Earth

‘Worms of the Earth’ is a short story by American fantasy fiction writer Robert E. Howard. It was originally published in the magazine Weird Tales in November 1932, then again in this collection of Howard’s short stories. The story features one of Howard’s recurring protagonists, Bran Mak Morn, a legendary king of the Picts. 

The Dark Man and Others

The Dark Man and Others is a posthumously-published anthology of fifteen short stories by American author Robert E. Howard, named after his short story “The Dark Man”, and covering the genres of adventure fiction, horror, historical fiction, fantasy, sword and sorcery, weird fiction and the weird West. It was first published in 1963 by Arkham House, and was edited by August Derleth.

Eleven of the stories had previously been published in the pulp magazine Weird Tales, and one each in Argosy, Oriental Stories and Strange Tales.